Let’s Play LWL: Parts 1 and 2

I didn’t see this until now, but apparently LordKat (of Until We Win fame) decided to give the game a whirl on his live feed back in late January, with some special guests including the Spoony One himself. He gets as far as the Nostalgia King’s throne room before, apparently, rage-quitting because the chat guys are giving the game such a hard time. So hats off to mr. Pullara for having the game’s back – much appreciated, hombre.

Here’s the two parts of the Let’s Play, as hosted by Justin.tv (sorry for only providing links; I can’t get embed to work with WordPress):

» Watch LordKat’s Let’s Play A Life Worth Losing – Part 1

» Watch LordKat’s Let’s Play A Life Worth Losing – Part 2

Now, I take criticism fairly lightly on this, because enough people have massaged my ego about this game that I know I at least did something right in someone’s eyes. I agree with the complaints that the game looks crappy and that a year of development seems like a long time for something that, obviously, would never see a professional release.

That said, the game wasn’t really in development for a full year: it took me four or five months total to code the thing up from design to finished game, music and everything. And six to seven months of waiting around (in vain, as it turned out) for people to help out polishing up the shoddy graphics, and slowly watching the game rot away on my hard drive as development went to a complete standstill for half a year.

In hindsight, I should have gone with the “disk version” plan from day 1 – i.e. finish the game as fast as I could and release it, instead of waiting around for others to help me get it finished – but I chalk that up to naïvety.

But that’s why the game is what it is in its current state, and that’s why some of the obvious references are excluded while some really old ones and possibly tired ones, like the Nerd/Critic rivalry, is in there. It doesn’t excuse what some people called horribly bad scripting, but hey, I can own to that – can’t make everybody laugh.

Leave a Reply

